Gilmore Girls!!

Yesterday all seven seasons of Gilmore Girls went live on Netflix, and guess who started her binge!! This one.

As I sat here on my couch rewatching all the episodes in order, I laughed. I cringed. I sang. I smiled. I freaked out. I began to relive the whole series. As of this post I’ve only gotten through about 9 episodes of the first season, but still. I remember how my mom and I used to watch it every week when a new episode came out, curled up on her bed, back when the CW was still the WB.

And I’m grateful.

I never realized how much this show shaped my identity as a kid and teen. Rory and I lived vastly different lives but we were similar in many ways. We both loved school, and learning. Both only had a small knit group of friends that they could rely on no matter what. Understand and revel in small-town New England (although Stars Hollow is much smaller than my home town). Both have strong mothers that helped, supported, and encouraged them through everything.

Our circumstances were different. I grew up in a family with both parents still lovingly married to each other, with a younger brother, not living near either set of grandparents (unfortunately).

But my mom and I watched Gilmore Girls every week. Laughing and crying together. Building a similar relationship to Rory and Lorelei. I forgot how much Rory inspired me, how she was my role model in many ways.

And now I realize why I don’t relate to many kids of my generation. I didn’t watch How I Met Your Mother, or Friends. They weren’t on my radar. I didn’t grow up watching Simpsons, except on Thanksgiving at my Aunt and Uncle’s house (which my mom has since regretted not letting me watch). I grew up with Gilmore Girls. My mom would even call me Rory sometimes because of how similar I could be to her, how academically driven I was (if less successful comparatively).

And so I thank you Netflix and Gilmore Girls, giving me a piece of myself back, that I had lost. I only hope that I can be as strong of a woman as Emily, Lorelei, Rory, and my mom. I hope that my [future] daughter(s) can follow in their positive example and that we can have just as strong a mother-daughter relationship.

To rewatching Gilmore Girls, and making new memories: l’chayim.

Leave a Reply

