Yom Kippur

Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement. On this day our fate is sealed for the next year.

It’s this weekend.

So let me explain: it’s a Jewish holiday, the one of (if not the most) solemn day of the year. It’s a 25 hour fast day were Jews all over the world pray, ask for forgiveness, and pledge to be a better person this new year. Kind of like making a new year’s resolution, but [arguably] with more sincerity.

I too therefore apologize if I have wronged you this past year, for I did not mean it. And I forgive you, in turn, for hurting me, for I know you didn’t mean it.

Part of my preparation for Yom Kippur this year is weaning myself off of caffeine. I’m not an avid coffee drinker by any means, but I have my one mug a day and that’s usually it. I am, however, very caffeine sensitive so I’m in the process of weaning myself off of it so I don’t suffer from a killer headache on Yom Kippur. I’ve done it before and I’d rather not again. So now, ALL THE GREEN TEA! Currently drinking Celestial Seasoning’s Raspberry Gardens Green Tea (green tea, white tea, and raspberry). It’s very nice, light, and refreshing.

I think I’m going to leave it at that. I should be back to posting on Sunday. As part of my new Rosh Hashanah/Yom Kippur resolutions, I plan on blogging Sunday-Thursday at 12:30 and 17:30 EST. That’s my ultimate goal, because just blogging these past several days has made me feel better and I want that to continue. That and exercise. That absolutely needs to happen more. I had made myself a routine and everything and I haven’t been following it well. Okay, I’ll be honest with you I haven’t done it at all. That will change.

“Throughout your life advance daily, becoming more skillful than yesterday, more skillful than today. This is never-ending.” Hagakure – Book of the Samurai (Yamamoto Tsunetomo)

This will be my ultimate goal.

May we all be written in the book of life, and have an easy fast.

G’mar chatima tova.

Leave a Reply

